Beautiful People: July 2017

Beautiful People is a meme created by Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In. The meme’s for writers to share all about their characters! It’s super fun, find out all about it here.

This month is all about the writers, which, hey I love talking about myself so this is perfect! XD

  1. How do you decide which project to work on? Usually, I choose to work on whatever is calling to me, whatever sounds the most fun. The projects I’m drawn to more than the others. There’s always something that I just can’t get out of my head so I know that’s what I should focus on.
  2. How long does it usually take you to finish a project? Depends. I usually give myself the time frame of a month for whatever I’m working on but I’ve been known to push myself too hard so I’ve been trying to relax on that. Not every draft can be finished in a month. But say the first draft to final, ready to query draft, over a year to get through all the drafts and get feedback and let it sit between drafts. Probably usually a year and a half or more.
  3. Do you have any routines to put you in the writing mood? Not really actually. I think, at this point, I’ve just been doing it for so long there are no like rituals and routines anymore. I just sit down and write. Sometimes, if I’m struggling, there’s more to it. Putting on a playlist to get me in the right mood. I also like to take a walk before I start writing, especially when I’m stuck, I spend the walk visualizing what is going to happen in the novel that day and get myself in the mood. But even that, it’s not something I do all the time.
  4. What time of day do you write best? That is a conundrum of sorts because it’s complicated. I do my best writing early in the morning and late at night which can be troublesome.
  5. Are there any authors you think you have a similar style to? I hate this question, honestly. I don’t know. Ask my beta readers!
  6. Why did you start writing, and why do you keep writing? Because I love stories and I can’t imagine doing anything else ever. I started writing because I had an awesome idea for a novel and I keep writing because I still have awesome ideas and when I’m not writing I feel like I’m going insane.
  7. What’s the hardest thing you’ve written? Ugh. I don’t know. The most diffusive project I’ve written was my April camp project but it wasn’t hard in that like the subject matter was difficult or something just that I had issues with the plot and it’s still a hot mess. I guess the hardest thing I’ve written was probably This World In Gray because it was the first book that I rewrote a million times, it was the book I wrote that taught me how to be a really good writer and it was difficult at times and sad. It was a sad book.
  8. Is there a project you want to tackle someday but you don’t feel ready yet? Yes. I still continually don’t feel ready to tackle the first book I ever wrote. See, that book is the start of everything and I’ve played around with it over the years but I still feel like I’m not ready to perfect it. I don’t yet know how to make it as amazing as my thirteen-year-old-self knew it could be so yeah. Not ready but one day.
  9. What writing goals did you make for 2017 and how are they going? I think my goals were mainly to write and not stress myself out so they’re going pretty well!
  10. Describe your writing process in 3 words or a gif! Insane. Organized. A hot mess. That’s more than three words but whatever.

Thanks for reading and don’t forget to leave me links to your Beautiful People posts! ❤

Leave a Reply

